First Blog Post: What I Hope To Learn

blog-post-1-imageTechnology… what a subject! It’s a part of everything we humans do, and whether we’d like to admit it or not, it’s the truth. Even cultures and societies that don’t embrace monumental inventions and discoveries, such as electricity, still use technology to some extent.

 

To me, technology means any device or socially implemented idea that came about by the means of human intelligence in order to solve a problem or make living more convenient. Something as simple as the wheel to something as complex as the laptop computer on which I am typing this. With all of this interplay between humans and technology, it goes without saying that it plays a vital role in the sister fields of advertising and public relations. For me to say that technology is the driving force that prints the flyers to hang in a university’s student union building, faxes the advertisements to magazine publishers, and sends promotional emails to online shoppers would be all too simple. The use of technology in any field makes a vast difference in the quality and efficiency with which things get done, and it is the human interaction with these inventions that causes them to work so effectively.

 

 

That being said, my interests pertinent to what I would like to learn from a course detailing the relationship shared between technology and the fields of public relations and advertising are vast. I would first like to learn some of the deeper historical context that the two share. As both advertising and evolving technology have been around as long as humans beings have, I’m sure the roots are fairly deep. Another big thing I expect to learn from this course, which I expect we will cover in depth throughout the semester, is how I myself might use technology most effectively to further myself in my career. To be even more specific, first and foremost I would like to learn how to create and maintain a proper blog. So far between the instruction in class and poking around on WordPress.com, it seems as though it won’t be as difficult as I had originally anticipated. Hopefully in no time, what is now a bit confusing to me will become second nature.

Leave a Reply

